* Login   * Register  * FAQ    * Search



Username:
Password:

Remember



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: FRAUD ALERT!
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 11:12 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 9:40 am
Posts: 586
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
This rat is touting the pick guard was signed by my dad. The signature is obviously a forgery and there are MISSING details (for you experts on the board, please don't disclose what the missing details are). Another glaring detail is the location of the signature, IT'S UNDER THE STRINGS! Who would be able to sign anything with strings in the way?

NO! The pick guard was taken off the guitar signed by SOMEONE and replaced! Any logical thinker would figure out a COA (certificate of authenticity) would have the artists name on it right? Be very careful when things like this appear on Craigslist and other auction sites.

Check this out and get a good laugh!

http://portland.craigslist.org/wsc/msg/2003398008.html


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: FRAUD ALERT!
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 12:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:24 am
Posts: 106
There's one born every minute....!!
Just a shame they are using CB......and how very true under the strings......!!!!!!


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: FRAUD ALERT!
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 1:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:20 pm
Posts: 290
Location: Sweden
Age: 42
What a shame that somebody makes things like that.
The real happyness with a autograph is when You got it from Chuck.
It means a lot for a real fan and would be treated like personally gift not for sale.

Peter


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: FRAUD ALERT!
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 1:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:24 am
Posts: 106
Thats right Peter if I had something like that it would not be for sale....period.....I am lucky enough to have so wonderful keep sakes , For instance Chuck's Autobiograghy signed by him and then next to it signed by Johnnie Johnson, Chuck smiled when he saw Johnnies's signature , I will never forget that or never sale .


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: FRAUD ALERT!
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 3:26 pm
Posts: 267
Location: Seattle, Washington
Dang! I knew my wife was a keeper when she gave me a signed photo of Chuck Berry (with "certificate of authenticity!") a few months after we met. It's on my wall, next to the one that I took that he signed for me in St. Louis. But I sure ain't showing it to CBII! (I need to believe!)


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: FRAUD ALERT!
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 8:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 1:16 pm
Posts: 554
Location: Bussey, Iowa USA
Age: 49
Thanks CBII for getting our attention on this. Like Stefano and Peter, it means so much to have Chuck sign for you personally. :D I saw a CB guitar pick sell on ebay probably 6 months ago - I couldn't beleive someone would sell it. I know my concert used CB pick could not be bought at any price. If nothing else if it ever come to it, I would pass it on to a devoted fan at no cost. And by the way Charles Thanks a Million!!!! :D :D :D

Doug 8)


Top
   
 
 Post subject: Re: FRAUD ALERT!
PostPosted: Fri Oct 15, 2010 1:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 9:43 am
Posts: 5
Thank you, CBII, for the heads up.

Do you think that there is a chance that your Dad will be signing auto graphs after his show in Maryland next week?

Also, will you and the ''family band'' be backing your him up at this show? I'm bringing my nephew to the show. It will be his first concert of any kind. He'll be starting with the ''Father of the Whole Thing''. Can't to better than that!

Hope to see you there.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
TMOL Style by NinhAnh
All times are UTC - 5 hours - It is currently Fri May 24, 2013 1:51 am
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group